# The Town of Orleans Board Meeting January 11, 2024

The Town of Orleans Town Board Held a regular scheduled board meeting on January 11 2024 at 7:00PM at the municipal building in LaFargeville.

Members Present: Kevin Rarick, Peter Wilson, Mary Ford-Waterman, Gwen Kirkby and Thomas Johnston

Others Present: Tammy Donnelly, Rob Campany, and Pam McDowell.

Supervisor Rarick called meeting to order at 7:05pm

1. Approval of minutes- A motion was made by Peter Wilson and seconded by Gwen Kirkby to approve November 2023 minutes. There was not a December 2023 meeting.

Kevin Rarick, Aye Peter Wilson, Aye Mary Ford-Waterman, Aye Thomas Johnston, Aye Gwen Kirkby, Aye All in favor motion carried

2. Financial Report received.

Application for health officer was given to Jim Burrows for him to review for qualifications

4. 2024 Annual Designations –

## Resolution #1

**Budget Officer-** Kevin Rarick

**Deputy Supervisor-** Peter Wilson

Bank- Gouverneur Savings & Loan

**Newspaper-** Thousand Island Sun and Watertown Daily Times (either or)

### **Polling Places**

District1-3 -LaFargeville Municipal Building

Web site- North Shore Solutions/Matt Turcotte

**Payroll-** BI-Weekly-Highway, General employment, Supervisor, Town Clerk, Clerk to Supervisor, Justice Clerk, Deputy Clerks, Zoning Officer, Assessor, Town Justice Hardy, Town Justice Morse, Building Maintenance, and Crossing Guard.

Quarterly- Councilman, Historian and Health officer

Annually- Zoning Board, Planning Board and Assessment Review board.

Attorney for the Town of Orleans-Kendall, Walton, & Burrows Attorney Firm, Ian Gilbert Solar Attorney

**Town board meetings** will be held every 2<sup>nd</sup> Thursday of each month

**Tax Collector** will refund any tax payment of \$5.01 more than the total tax amount due and town will retain overpayment of \$5.00 or less.

**Policies for 2024**Investment, procurement, drug and alcohol testing, smoking, computer, sexual harassment/discrimination, code of ethics, and conduct at meetings.

Mileage reimbursement for 2024- State Rate 0.67 cents per mile.

Accountant Services – Stakel & Navarra, C.P.A, PC of Watertown

Town Historian- Stacey Snyder Morse, Assistant Historian, Parker Morse

**Health Officer-** Need to appoint

Vital Registrar- Tammy Donnelly

**Deputy Vital Registrar-** Amy Dulmage

**Zoning Officer** – Lee Shimel

## Board of Assessment Review (3-person board)

Fred Duffany- Retired need to publish Stacy Snyder-Morse- Term expires 10/1/2026 Frank Shortt- Term expires 10/1/2025

# Town of Orleans Zoning Board

Ben Timerman- Co Chairman – Term expires 1/1/2025 Brett Robbins- Term expires 1/1/2027 Jeff Robinson- Term expires 1/1/2028 Larry Walldroff- Chairman- Term expires 1/1/2029 Louise Nuffer- 1/1/2026 Secretary- Courtney Schemerhorn

## Planning Board

Mitchel Robinson - Term expires 1/2025 Donna Dutton- Term expires 1/2026(Chairman) Lisa Madson – Term expires 1/2028 Joe Rotella – Term expires 1/2027 Andy Greene – Term expires 1/2027 Secretary- Courtney Schermerhorn

#### Youth Commission Board

Patty Sourwine 1/2025 Tyler Lashomb 1/2025 Miranda Nelson 1/2025

All terms expire 1/2025(will appoint on a yearly basis)

## Orleans Public Library Board

Stacey Snyder Morse – Librarian Dan Timerman - Term expires 2028 William Walldroff- Term expires 2025 Lucy Kahnt- Term expires 2026 Rosan Whitmore- Term expires 2027 Allison Winn- Term expires 2029

A motion was made by Gwen Kirkby and seconded by Thomas Johnston to accept the above annual designations.

Kevin Rarick, Aye Peter Wilson, Aye Mary Ford-Waterman, Aye Thomas Johnston, Aye Gwen Kirkby, Aye All in favor motion carried

- 5. Lee Shimel updated town board
- 6. Dale Raymo gave town board update and discussed equalization rate. Dale would like the board to think about what to do. Discussion was held.
- 7. Rob Campany update LA Sewer update report for consent order is due.

TI Park Project – Building is up and done. Pump station is operating.

*Library update – Finishing up HVAC designs.* 

8. Quotes for plow for DPW department received Whitesboro Plow \$8,000 Gilco - \$8,177, Western Plow \$8,384.00.

A motion was made by Peter Wilson and seconded by Thomas Johnston to accept Whitesboro quote in the amount of \$8,000 dollars

Kevin Rarick, Aye Peter Wilson, Aye Mary Ford-Waterman, Aye Thomas Johnston, Aye Gwen Kirkby, Aye All in favor motion carried

- 9. Town Clerk Report reviewed
- 10. Bills were audited in the amount of \$310,684.04

A motion was made by Gwen Kirkby and seconded by Mary Ford-Waterman to adjourn the meeting.

Kevin Rarick, Aye Peter Wilson, Aye Mary Ford-Waterman, Aye Thomas Johnston, Aye Gwen Kirkby, Aye All in favor motion carried

Meeting adjourned at 8:30pm

Respectfully submitted Tammy Donnelly Town Clerk